Start date: December 9, 2021
End date: December 13, 2021
Time: Day 1: 1030-1530 ET; Day 2: 1030-1530 ET; Day 3: 10:30am-4:30pm ET
Location: Zoom

Title: Trauma-Focused Cognitive Behavioral Therapy Training & Implementation

Dates: December 9, 10 & 13, 2021

Time:

Thursday Dec 9th: 7:30am-12:30pm PT / 8:30am-1:30pm MT / 9:30am-2:30pm CT / 10:30am-3:30pm ET

Friday Dec 10th:  7:30am-12:30pm PT / 8:30am-1:30pm MT / 9:30am-2:30pm CT / 10:30am-3:30pm ET

Monday Dec 13th: 7:30am-1:30pm PT / 8:30am-2:30pm MT / 9:30am-3:30pm CT / 10:30am-4:30pm ET

Location: The training will take place via Zoom.

Payment: $875

Special Rates:

Student Rate ($250): Please send a copy of your current transcript or a student ID with the validity dates visible to [email protected]

Early Career Rate ($700): Please send a photo or copy of your diploma (you’ve graduated with your Master’s in the past 3 years) to [email protected]

Groups of 10 or more: Please contact [email protected] with the names and email addresses of the clinicians you will be registering from your agency to receive a 20% discount on all full price tickets in your group.

To register, please visit: https://events.humanitix.com/dec-trauma-focused-cognitive-behavioral-therapy-training-and-implementation?_ga=2.26575608.410688379.1636872343-46638345.1636047672

Training Description:

TF-CBT is a short-term, evidence-based treatment for children, ages 3-18, who have experienced trauma (e.g., child abuse, domestic violence, traumatic grief, and other traumatic events) and their caregivers. This components-based psychotherapy model incorporates trauma-sensitive interventions with cognitive behavioral, family, and humanistic principles. TF-CBT is empirically supported for use with youth impacted by trauma and co-occurring mental health problems. It is designated a Model Program by SAMHSA’s National Child Traumatic Stress Network (NCTSN) and has received the highest scientific rating as a Well-Supported-Effective Practice by the California Evidence-Based Clearinghouse for Child Welfare (http://secure-web.cisco.com/1s66gAi8OAwUCTaRK2nHclYtIeewmHmh5GG9meOWuTh9yAhrrt99vpXQYLsB6Jx-_HNfTqLKOny_MirsxyQVcCQNdX9mXUjL4N4gSTwP1UZNMsM9IpYs05kGkRipr6t19fT8NbBK6mc4KMd04pnA1GLTpjtfAU_xw5c4hm2HvWpRvi12t24do F9YqbmeFAO4_Pdotbal8ql2zSbYbaobN1gD86F6t2ltUZq6vFxVP_0NOpOOdvS8 hUsXnYxUYLZ67OOofNv_h4HeGopcVtkbB7S2M6RCKmuR_F0NWBRhQfYP_kwvpVSTTAssC1QLhNg/http%3A%2F%2Fwww.cebc4cw.org) Clinical research shows that TF-CBT significantly reduces children’s symptoms of PTSD and improves overall mental health in children and caregivers.

TF-CBT Components:

  • Assessment Feedback
  • Psychoeducation and Parenting Strategies
  • Relaxation
  • Affective expression and regulation
  • Cognitive coping
  • Trauma narrative and processing
  • In vivo exposure
  • Conjoint parent-child sessions
  • Enhancing personal safety and future growth

Learning Objectives:

  • Identify and engage children and families who would benefit from TF-CBT
  • Describe the treatment components and understand the underlying rationale of each component
  • Learn how to link trauma assessment results to TF-CBT treatment plans and track treatment progress over time
  • Learn and practice skills to implement PRACTICE treatment components
  • Learn several creative approaches for doing the Trauma Narrative and practice exposure techniques
  • Learn strategies for addressing distorted and unhelpful trauma-related cognitions
  • Address common barriers to treatment implementation

This three-day virtual training will provide mental health and related professionals with a comprehensive understanding of TF-CBT as well as hands-on opportunities to practice the TF-CBT components. In addition, significant training time is devoted to formal and informal trauma assessment techniques, including information about how to screen for trauma exposure and measure trauma symptoms, using standardized screening instruments. Participants will be provided with free assessment tools and learn how to provide feedback on the standardized assessment measures. The assessment training also includes background on the prevalence of trauma exposure and trauma-related symptoms in children and adolescents.

About Consultation/Implementation Support:

Consult calls are used to support providers using TF-CBT in their own practice following training. They are also required for the TF-CBT national certification. (https://www.tfcbt.org).

  • Clinicians are expected to carry a minimum of 2 TF-CBT training cases, use assessments, present on calls, and receive feedback and direction through telephone and/or video conferencing.
  • Consult groups consist of approximately 10-12 participants, are 60 minutes in duration, and occur twice per month for 6 months.

Pre-Training Activities:

Prior to the training, we ask you to complete the following:

1. Complete our pre-training survey on Qualtrics. This will take about 25 minutes. You can complete the survey here: https://cuboulder.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_eqUOZjKh7U9pW8C

2. Complete the full TF-CBTWeb 2.0 on-line course. The cost of this course is $35 and it offers 11 CEUs upon completion. TF-CBTWeb 2.0 may be accessed via the following weblink: www.musc.edu/tfcbt2.

Notes/CEUs:

  • At the end of the three-day training you will be provided with a completion certificate denoting 16 hours of live virtual TF-CBT training.
  • This training certificate can be used as documentation of training completion when applying for licensing renewal.
  • Completion of the full TF-CBTWeb 2.0 on-line course offers 11 CEUs upon completion.

Trainer Biographies:

Kimberly Shipman, Ph.D.
Dr. Shipman is on faculty at the Institute of Behavioral Science at the University of Colorado, Boulder. She is a developmental and child clinical psychologist with expertise in child development, child trauma, parent-child communication, and evidence-based mental health treatment. She is an expert in TF-CBT and completed the “train-the-trainer” program with its developers. She regularly conducts TF-CBT trainings as well as training in other evidence-based practices.

Monica Fitzgerald, Ph.D.
Dr. Fitzgerald is on the faculty at the Institute of Behavioral Science at the University of Colorado, Boulder. She is a licensed clinical psychologist and her clinical and research interests focus on the impact of child abuse and trauma exposure on children’s psychosocial and emotional adjustment and the implementation of evidence-based, trauma-focused interventions in community service settings. She is the Director of the Evidence-Based Practice Training Initiative and conducts federally funded intervention research on TF-CBT and co-leads SAMHSA funded National Child Traumatic Stress Network with Dr. Shipman. Dr. Fitzgerald is an expert in TF-CBT and Abuse-Focused Cognitive Behavioral Therapy. She regularly conducts trainings and provides consultation for these models nationally and internationally.